Report an accessibility problem

Engineering | Neithalath Lab

Doctoral Students

  1. Pu Yang  – Modeling the moisture and ionic transport through uncracked and cracked concretes through finite element simulation
  2. Matthew Aguayo – Synergistic effects of fibers and soft inclusions in cementitious systems: Observations from contact and Non-contact based testing
  3. Akash Dakhane – Reaction kinetics and its influence on properties of cement-less or low-cement systems activated using neutral/low pH activators
  4. Aashay Arora  – Microstructural modeling of cement-based materials at early ages
  5. Sumanta Das  – Novel routes of carbonation for binder formation
  6. Kirk Vance (2014) – High volume limestone powder additions in concrete – physico-chemical effects and transport properties.
  7. Milani Sureka Sumanasooriya ( 2012) – Computational materials science-based tools for proportioning and performance prediction of pervious concretes
  8. Deepak Ravikumar (2012) – Property development, microstructure, and performance of alkali activated fly ash and slag systems
  9. Omkar Deo (2011) – Structural and environmental performance of pervious concretes and their relationship to its pore structure
  10. Jitendra Jain (2009) – Physico-chemical changes in cementitious systems through the use of non-standard cementing materials and their influence on ionic transport
  11. Ramkishore Manchiryal (2009) – Dielectric response based characterization and strength prediction of cementitious materials

Masters Students

  1. Satheesh Babu Madavarapu – FTIR spectral deconvolution methods for alkali activated binder systems
  2. Matthew Aguayo (2014) – Strength and transport properties of interground and blended limestone systems
  3. Pu Yang (2014): Moisture and ionic permeation in concretes – modeling and simulation
  4. Akash Dakhane (2013) – Kinetics of slag systems activated using potassium bearing activators
  5. Breeann Sharma (2013)- Phase change materials in cement systems – Incorporation and properties
  6. Ussala Chowdhury (2013) – Curing methods for alklai-activated binder systems
  7. Benjamin Rehder (2013) – Pore structure dependence of transport and fracture in pervious concretes
  8. Amie Stockwell (2013) – Finite element based optimization of structural elements containing phase change materials (Co-advised with Prof. S.D. Rajan)
  9. Lavannya Hembade (2012) – Finite element modeling of concrete structural elements containing phase change materials (Co-advised with Prof. S.D. Rajan)
  10. Sundar Chithiraputhran (2012) – Fly ash-slag blended alkali activated systems – Development and proeprty evaluation
  11. Shilpa Manari (2011) – Phase change materials for thermal management in concrete structures
  12. Rachel Redden ( 2011) – Particle packing in highly porous systems: Impact on material design and properties
  13. Jarrod Persun ( 2010) – Correlating electrical impedance, maturity method, and a field sensing tool for concrete property prediction
  14. Sanish, K.B – Electrical impedance test methods for concrete performance (Exchange student from IIT Madras, India)
  15. Hieu Cam (2009) – Effects of high carbon/sulfate fly ash and limestone powder in cementitious systems
  16. Nathan Schwarz (2007) – Evaluating the performance of fine glass powder as a cement replacement material
  17. Bhavin Bhayani (2007) – Investigations on the efficiency of Enhanced Porosity Concrete in retaining vehicular oil spills (co-advised with Prof. Thomas Holsen)

Undergraduate Researchers

  1. Fabricio Lima (Fall 2014 onwards) – Propensity of alkali-silica reaction in highly alkali activated slag binders
  2. Franceso Luta (Fall 2013 onwards – FURI student) – Tailored nano/micro porous materials for water treatment
  3. Shannon Tweedley  (Fall 2013 onwards – Barrett Honors student)  – Characterization of fly ash based geopolymer  binders (Honors thesis)
  4. Alyson Hendrix (Summer 2013 onwards –FURI student) – Curing methods for iron carbonate binders
  5. Beshoy Suleiman (Spring 2013 onwards) – Metallic carbonation and material microstructure
  6. Ashley Welton (2012) – Alkali activated, micowave cured systems
  7. Kingsten Bahn (Spring 2012 onwards – Barrett Honors, and FURI student) – Pervious concrete material structure and property evaluation; Effects of curing on properties of alkali activated concretes (Honors thesis)
  8. Matthew Aguayo (Spring 2012 onwards) – Limestone powder modified cementitious systems
  9. Alexander Hango (Fall 2010 – Spring 2011) – Mechanical behavior and pore structure of pervious concretes (Clarkson Honors student)
  10. David Champoux (Spring 2010) – Compressive behavior of pervious concretes
  11. Brandon Rivera (Summer 2009, 2010) – Comparison of the performance of two different glass powders in cement pastes; Energy efficient concretes (Clarkson Honors student)
  12. Christopher Milczarek (Summer 2009) – Fused silica and its influence on cement hydration (CAMP pre-frosh student)
  13. Jeevaka Somaratna (Winter 2008 onwards) – Curing methods and their influence on the properties of alkali activated fly ash concretes (Clarkson Honors student)
  14. Micheal Howie (Fall 2008 – Spring 2010) – Cement free binders containing circulating fluidized bed combustion fly ash as the sole binder – Clarkson Honors thesis (Clarkson Honors student)
  15. Nicole Olivares (Summer 2008 – CAMP Pre-frosh student, 2009) – Self consolidating concretes with limestone powder; flow behavior of cement pastes containing different replacement materials
  16. Alicia Shelvay (Summer 2008, Fall 2008, Summer 2009, Spring 2010, Summer 2010) – Fractal analysis of macroporous concretes and related methods for performance prediction
  17. Matthew Kinnier (Fall 2008) – Impedance based sensor for fresh concrete property testing
  18. Jarrod Persun (Summer 2007, Fall 2007, Summer 2008) – Cement pastes and concretes with silica fume and vitreous aluminosilicate; chloride transport in normal and self consolidating concretes
  19. Kathleen Low [UC Berkeley] (Summer 2007, REU) – Pore structure of EPC and its influence on performance
  20. David Cornish (Spring 2007) – Pore structure characterization of Enhanced Porosity Concretes
  21. Hieu Cam (Fall 2006, Spring 2007) – Alkali-silica reaction in glass powder modified mortars
  22. Douglas Harz (Fall 2006, Spring 2007) – Pore structure characterization of Enhanced Porosity Concretes
  23. Nathan Schwarz (Fall 2005, Spring 2006) – Electrical conductivity based characterization of cement systems
  24. Matthew DuBois (Fall 2005, Spring 2006) – Electrical conductivity based characterization of cement systems